Login
  Early Childhood Programs
Educational Services Branch
  Carrie Murphy, Director 
5100 Adolfo Road, Camarillo CA 93012
(805) 437-1510 FAX (805) 437-1515
VCSSO Home
 
   

Staff Contact Information

Main Office Phone
805-437-1510
FAX 805-437-1515

Marian Everest
Technical Assistant Specialist
805-437-1368
meverest@vcoe.org

Brenda Gúzman
Technical Assistant Specialist
805-437-1516
bgúzman@vcoe.org

Shadaneca Harbour
Technical Assistant Specialist
805-437-1518
sharbour@vcoe.org  

Michell Henry
Operations Specialis
t
805-437-1513
mhenry@vcoe.org 

Anna Izaguirre
Operations Specialist
805-437-1375
aizaguirre@vcoe.org

Heather Johnson
Secretary
805-437-1373
hejohnson@vcoe.org

Alicia McFarland
Technical Assistant Specialist
805-437-1512
amcfarland@vcoe.org

Merced Robles
ECE Advisor
805-437-1369
mrobles@vcoe.org 

Lisa Schneider
ECE Technician
805-437-1514
lschneider@vcoe.org

Belia Soto
Technical Assistant Specialist

805-437-1364
belia.soto@vcoe.org

Lorena Veloz
Technical Assistant Specialist
805-437-1517
lveloz@vcoe.org

 
 
   Home
 
 
 
EARLY CHILDHOOD PROGRAMS
 

 
 

 

Carrie Murphy, Director
805.437.1510
cmurphy@vcoe.org

The Early Childhood Program Department (ECP) supports high quality preschool experiences designed to promote school readiness. ECP is comprised of four Quality Initiative projects listed below. These four quality initiatives support the Early Childhood Education (ECE) workforce with professional development, targeted technical assistance, and stipends toward college degree achievement.  The ECP department works directly with three of the school districts in the county by providing (590) preschool spaces. The Local Planning Council (LPC) is an integral component of ECP by supplying countywide tracking of statistical data showing the trends of supply and demand and cost of child care.

 

 

Quality Rating Improvement System (QRIS)

  • Standardizes elements of quality in a five-tier matrix
  • Conducts multiple assessments to create Quality Improvement Plans
  • Provides professional development trainings and on-site technical assistance support to programs in order to achieve quality goals
  • QRIS is funded by First 5 and Race to the Top
    QRIS Implementation Presentation 

 Early Childhood Education (ECE) Stipend Project

  • ECE Advisors support students in degree attainment and improve quality programming through professional development training on the Classroom Assessment Scoring System (CLASS) and the Environmental Rating Scale (ERS) assessment tools 
  • ECE Stipend Project is funded by First 5 and California Department of Education, Child Development Division

 California State Preschool Program (CSPP) 

  • Provides high quality preschool experiences and literacy coaching for 192 children in the Hueneme, Ocean View, and Rio School Districts 
  • CSPP is funded by the California Department of Education, Child Development Division

California Preschool Instructional Network (CPIN)

  • Provides professional development and technical assistance to preschool teachers and administrators to ensure preschool children are ready for school
  • CPIN is funded by the California Department of Education, Child Development Division in collaboration with the Center for Child and Family Studies at WestEd and the California County Superintendents Educational Services Association (CCSESA)

          For more information go to: http://www.cpin.us/
 
Local Planning Council of Ventura County (LPC)

  • Serves as a united voice for early care and education in Ventura County
  • Develops county-wide strategic plan for increased access to quality programming based upon the needs of children, families and early care and education professionals

           For more information go to: http://www.venturalpc.org/

 

 
 

Commitment to Quality Education for All
Copyright (c) 2014 Early Childhood Programs
Terms Of Use