Joe I. Mendoza, Director

Joe I. Mendoza, currently the Director of the Special Populations Educational Support Dept., for the Ventura County Office of Education, with 65 years of service to education, has inspired and motivated thousands of children who are now parents and professionals, many of them teachers.  In some cases, Mr. Mendoza’s students are now grandparents who are in turn, motivating their grandchildren to become educators or invest their time and effort in education.  He has taught the elementary, middle school, high school, and university levels and served as principal, assistant superintendent, and superintendent.

Mr. Mendoza’s lifetime dedication to education has been recognized locally, statewide, nationally and internationally.  His awards are too numerous to mention but to name a few.  He is the recipient of the Outstanding Educator Lifetime Achievement Awards from the following:  the League of United Latin American Citizens (LULAC); The California State Assembly; the County of Ventura Board of Supervisors; the City of the Port of Hueneme; and the El Concilio Del Condado de Ventura Latino Leadership Award.  

He has also received a Certificate of Special Congressional Recognition and received the OHTLI Award, the highest recognition bestowed by the government of Mexico to a Mexican citizen or a person of Mexican descent living abroad, from the Secretaria de Relaciones Exteriores, “On Behalf of the President of Mexico, Vicente Fox, for Outstanding Service to Migrant Students and Parents.”

 

 

 

Contacts
Name Title Phone Email
Joe I. Mendoza Director 805-437-1521 jmendoza@vcoe.org
Foster Youth Services

Laura Welbourn Foster Youth Services Coordinator 805-437-1525 lwelbourn@vcoe.org
Michele Ortiguerra Foster Youth Services Coordinator 805-437-1527 mortiguerra@vcoe.org
Lydia Barajas Foster Youth Services Data Specialist 805-437-1529 LBarajas@vcoe.org
Homeless Education Program

Cathi Nye Homeless Program Coordinator 805-437-1559 cnye@vcoe.org
Migrant Education

Maria Ponce-Montañez Migrant Specialist/Supervisor 805-383-9358 MPonceMontanez@vcoe.org
Migrant Education Family & Community Engagement

Roberto Barrientos Migrant Education Family & Community Engagement Specialist 805-437-1526 rbarrientos@vcoe.org
Migrant Education Identification & Recruitment

Maria Ambriz Migrant Recruiter, SEA Reviewer 805-383-9356 mambriz@vcoe.org
Jacquelinne Avena Migrant Recruiter 805-383-9357 javena@vcoe.org
Migrant Education Support Staff

Ellie Miranda Alvarado Migrant Support Services Assistant 805-437-1523 EMirandaAlvarado@vcoe.org
Olga Villalobos Administrative Assistant II 805-437-1522 ovillalobos@vcoe.org