Spring 2021 - The School Year Continues with Distance Learning

The Career Education Center will continue to deliver high quality Career Education through Canvas and Google classroom platforms

 

 

 

Dear Parents and Guardians,

Welcome to the Career Education Center!  We are here to support each student on their path toward college and a future career.  The CEC focuses on High-Quality programs for grade 11 and 12 students. We offer a variety of classes, including Advanced Welding, Auto Technology and Applied Manufacturing .  We have a broad offering of courses that have been designed in collaboration with industry professionals, most including internships during the second semester. Below is a brief snapshot of some of the great reasons for students to take classes with us.  

Click here to learn more about Career Technical Education and why CTE is a vital part of a student's high school experience.

 

Industry Certifications

Many of our classes offer industry certifications, each recognized in the workplace, in areas such as Welding, Manufacturing, Cybersecurity, CNA, and Dental Assisting.  These certifications provide students substantial accomplishments for their resume or college applications as well as support students moving directly into the workplace upon program completion.

 

High-Quality CTE

Programs for 2020-2021 have been reviewed to align with the requirements of a high-quality CTE program as defined by the California Department of Education.  All programs meet the hourly requirement of either 300 or 150 hours.  Courses are designed to ensure students are prepared to advance to a post-secondary career education program and/or enter the career workforce  Courses are not designed to be credit recovery options. 

 

Questions? 

Please call our office at 805-437-1420.  We are happy to provide assistance and answer any questions you may have.

 

Please direct registration and student enrollment inquiries to Office Manager Jenna Sapp jsapp@vcoe.org

 

 

All high school sites need to identify a Career Education Center Liaison for CEC communication items.  Please notify Office Manager Jenna Sapp jsapp@vcoe.org to update your site's identified counselor.

 

Counselor liaisons will receive updates when students regarding students signing up for CEC courses.

 

Most of our CEC courses include an internship component during the second semester.  Students will need to provide their own transportation to internship sites.  Many of our students are hired by local businesses as a result of their internship experience

 

 

Key Dates

March 5, 2021:  Annual Counselor Coffee & Registration event. 

March 9, 2021:   Registration Portal opens.

May 14, 2021:  Confirmation of 2021-2022 courses.

June 2021: Registration Portal re-opens for classes where space permits.  

July 2021: Registration Portal closes.

August 11, 2021: Projected first day of class at CEC (earlier start date for Dental).  Date to be confirmed May 2021. 

 

Teacher Contact Information

Career Education Teacher Contact Information

Agriculture & Natural Resources Teachers
Kathy Jonokuchi kjonokuchi@vcoe.org
Arts Media & Entertainment Teachers
Joe Chacon jchacon@vcoe.org
Health Science and Medical Technologies Teachers
Camille Jauregui cjauregui@vcoe.org
Catinca Medrazo cmadrazo@vcoe.org
Erica Spicer espicer@vcoe.org
Esmeralda Ruiz eruiz3@vcoe.org
Hunter Taylor htaylor@vcoe.org
Tacha Robles trobles@vcoe.org
Information & Communication Technologies Teachers
Kevin Rickard krickard@vcoe.org
Manufacturing & Product Development Teachers
Greg Dettorre gdettorre@vcoe.org
John Rodriguez jorodriguez@vcoe.org
Transportation Teachers
Devin Thompson dthompson@vcoe.org
Joe Martin jmartin@vcoe.org
Steve Budy sbudy@vcoe.org
Robin Sullivan rsullivan@vcoe.org

Did you know?

Many of our Career Education teachers work at other school sites across the county and may be contacted through their home school email address as well as the one provided here.

Check school sites for additional contact email information.