Carrie Murphy, Director

Carrie Murphy joined VCOE in 2006, and has expanded early childhood programming creating an Early Childhood Programs Department in 2009. As the Director of the Early Childhood Programs, Carrie oversees multiple projects all focused on improving access to high quality early learning experiences ensuring children’s success in kindergarten. Carrie collaborates with early childhood leaders to guide the implementation of federal and state quality initiatives including: Race to the Top Early Learning Challenge Grant, The Early Learning Opportunities Act, Power of Preschool, Child Signature Program, CARES, QRIS Block Grant, and the Kindergarten Readiness Act / Transitional Kindergarten.

Prior to working at VCOE, Carrie was the School Readiness Coordinator at First 5 Ventura County where she developed the Preschool for All work plan and increased preschool capacity in high priority school districts.

Through her leadership role with the Local Planning Council of Ventura County, Carrie is responsible for the research and writing of Ventura County Child Care Needs Assessments and Five Year Child Care Plans. These documents assess the supply, demand, and cost of child care – identifying gaps in the delivery system along with recommended strategies to improve services.

Carrie’s Master’s Degree in Human Development is from Pacific Oaks College and her Bachelor’s Degree in Business Administration is from the University of Arizona.

Contacts
Name Title Phone Email
Main Office Number Early Childhood Programs 805-437-1510
Carrie Murphy Director 805-437-1510 cmurphy@vcoe.org
Sloane Burt Operations Specialist 805-437-1377 sburt@vcoe.org
Melanie Edmunds ECE Technician 805-437-1514 medmunds@vcoe.org
Marian Everest Technical Assistance Specialist 805-437-1368 meverest@vcoe.org
Mandy Friel Project Specialist 805-437-1373 afriel@vcoe.org
Shadaneca Harbour Technical Assistance Specialist 805-437-1518 sharbour@vcoe.org
Anna Izaguirre Technical Assistance Specialist 805-437-1375 aizaguirre@vcoe.org
Maritza Garcia Administrative Assistant 805-437-1364 mgarcia@vcoe.org
Alicia McFarland Operations Specialist 805-437-1512 amcfarland@vcoe.org
Merced Robles Technical Assistance Specialist 805-437-1369 mrobles@vcoe.org
Lorena Veloz Technical Assistance Specialist 805-437-1517 lveloz@vcoe.org