VCOE Newsroom

18 December 2019

California Distinguished Schools Include Nine in Ventura County

Nine Ventura County elementary schools are being honored as 2020 California Distinguished Schools by the California Department of Education. Schools are awarded for their work toward closing the achievement gap and for achieving exceptional student performance. Schools that applied were eligible based on their performance and progress on the state indicators as described on the California School Dashboard. Indicators include test scores, suspension rates and English learner progress.


The Ventura County schools being honored are:



Acacia Magnet School for Enriched Learning

Conejo Valley Unified

Academy of Technology & Leadership at Saticoy

Ventura Unified

Campus Canyon Elementary

Moorpark Unified

Environmental Academy of Research Technology and Earth Sciences

Conejo Valley Unified

Junipero Serra Elementary

Ventura Unified

Meadows Arts and Technology Elementary

Ventura County Office of Education

Sycamore Canyon

Conejo Valley Unified

Vista Elementary

Simi Valley Unified

Walnut Canyon Elementary

Moorpark Unified


The 323 California Distinguished Schools will be honored on February 10, 2020, during an awards ceremony at the Disneyland Resort in Anaheim. The complete list of the honorees is available here.